Costume SuperCentre Canada

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Galaxy 17 at 91W

  1. #1
    minonano Guest

    Default Galaxy 17 at 91W

    Is anyone getting this Sat? If so what size dish and what type LNB is required?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3,051
    Satfix Buxs
    17,303
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 80 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    I believe the only thing you might get from the Ku band, using a linear lnb and 36" dish, would be occasional network feeds. There are no regular FTA channels there. There are quite a few channels on c-band. For that you would need a BUD, probably 8 foot. JMO

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    19,315
    Satfix Buxs
    86,254
    Thanks
    15,170
    Thanked 14,119 Times in 4,603 Posts
    Items DishCanadaGreeceCrown Royal
Gift received at 10-02-2012, 02:39 PM from CHEVY85
Message: thank you buddy

    Default

    As stman stated there are no permanent channels on the ku side but one of the best sat for feeds, especially sports. Lots of premium channels on the c band side wjich I have pulled in with a 6' dish in the past.


    10' Channel Master mesh-24" VonWeise actuator-Bsc422 lnbf-Pansat AP3500 positioner-Dr hd F15-Technomate 5302.
    8' Fortec solid-24" VonWeise actuator-C1wpll lnbf circular-Amiko L104 lnbf-Vbox 7 positioner-X2 Premium III-Azbox Ultra.
    4' Fortec offset-Stab hh 1.2 motor-Invacom twf-031 universal lnbf/gibertini c120 feedhorn-Technomate 5402.
    Dreamlink Android-Dreamlink HD-Mega Tvi Shd3000-Nanosat Premium-Cnx 2 to Ilink.

  4. #4
    oamm Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by minonano View Post
    Is anyone getting this Sat? If so what size dish and what type LNB is required?
    Thanks
    Yes i'm getting the 97 with a SG2100 Satellite Dish Motor & Invacom QPH-031 Quad LNB, i have this setup on a one meter dish, (an old primestar dish) to be honest there are a lot of channels there, lots of international, quite a few english channels, mostly religous networks, theres a couple or three channels that do a varity of different movies, is a vrey good sat in my opinion, check the fta channel list for a complete listing.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    3,051
    Satfix Buxs
    17,303
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 80 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oamm View Post
    Yes i'm getting the 97 with a SG2100 Satellite Dish Motor & Invacom QPH-031 Quad LNB, i have this setup on a one meter dish, (an old primestar dish) to be honest there are a lot of channels there, lots of international, quite a few english channels, mostly religous networks, theres a couple or three channels that do a varity of different movies, is a vrey good sat in my opinion, check the fta channel list for a complete listing.
    He was asking about 91W.

  6. #6
    oamm Guest

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by stman View Post
    He was asking about 91W.
    stman;376335, you are so right, after i throught about it and went back i saw my mistake, i dont want t o give false or wrong info, do i need to delete my post? thank you again ...

  7. #7
    oamm Guest

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by stman View Post
    He was asking about 91W.
    stman; you are so right, after i throught about it and went back i saw my mistake, i dont want t o give false or wrong info, do i need to delete my post? thank you again ...

  8. #8
    minonano Guest

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stman View Post
    I believe the only thing you might get from the Ku band, using a linear lnb and 36" dish, would be occasional network feeds. There are no regular FTA channels there. There are quite a few channels on c-band. For that you would need a BUD, probably 8 foot. JMO
    Thanks Stman, but I am mainly after the Classic Arts Showcase, which apparently is free on this Sat. Do you think I can get it with the linear 36" dish?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    6,385
    Satfix Buxs
    49,716
    Thanks
    1,528
    Thanked 2,978 Times in 1,341 Posts
    Items Vintage truck
Gift received at 12-23-2012, 08:06 AM from CHEVY85
Message: thank you budTVCoffee makerPinkfloydthe travel gnomeTractorSubmarineA Beer

    Default

    No you will need at least a 6 foot dish with a "C" band LNB for reception of 91W "C" band channels as the one channel your looking for is on the "C" band side of 91W.

    "Ku" band is 11.5 to 12.6 GHz, "C" band is 3.4 to 5 GHz, big difference.
    Last edited by Terryl; 03-21-2011 at 11:13 PM.
    ♫♫♫ Iím a lumberjack and Iím OK ♫♫♫ I drink all night and sleep all day. ♫♫♫



    Coming soon to a crop circle near you.....

    There is a 66 and third % chance that I'm on the right planet...

    "I'm happier then a Jackalope in a balloon factory"

    "First rule of testing satellites"
    "If its working fine now, then don't mess with it"

    "Second rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and now it doesn't work, can you blame someone else?"

    "Third rule of testing satellites"
    "If you did mess with it, and it doesn't work now, and you can't blame someone else"
    "Can you HIDE it"?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •