PDA

View Full Version : Setup for 110/119/129 & 82/91



ThaDraGun
04-19-2012, 02:17 AM
I need some help setting up my satellites. I havent had satellite in over a year and want to get back into the game. I moved to a new house so I have to start from scratch setting up and aiming. I was hoping someone had a diagram or something that could show the connections. My old house all I had was 110 so this is going to be a bit more complicated.
I have a bunch of satellite equipment, just dont what to use to get all signals on one receiver.

I have:

SonicView 8000HD with iHub or whatever you call it now.

DN 1000.2 Dish
Power Inserter

BEV Dish with both lnbs

SW44 Switch
Bunch of DiSEqC switches that came with my receivers
A couple 22KHZ switches

I also have other dishes but I want to just use these two.


Thanks

Glatt
04-19-2012, 03:16 AM
Easy to have mutiple sats

ThaDraGun
04-19-2012, 03:21 AM
thanks but regular satellite dishes look bad enough. Ive done it like that before when I lived in a condo, didnt care about my yard etc. Now I own a nice house and those setups look like crap, no offence. Thats why I bought the dishes that the satelltes were meant for. No mods to the brackets or lnbs needed. I just dont what to use to connect it all together.

edgarr
04-19-2012, 06:57 PM
You can add the bev 91 or 82 sat. to the lnb input terminal of the 1000.2, It is your choice as to what one you add.
Then run one output from the 1000.2 lnb to the 0 khz. side of a 22 khz controlled switch, Then run the other bev line you did not use to the port 1 of a diseqc switch,and the output from there to the 22 khz. side of your 22 khz, controlled switch.
In your receiver settings you will set 119 to port 1 with 22 khz to OFF. 110 to port 2 with 22 khz. to OFF.
129 to port 3 with 22 khz. to OFF.
The bev that you connected to the input of the 1000.2 lnb will be set to port 4 with 22 khz.to OFF.
The other bev sat. connected to the 22 khz side of controlled switch will be set to PORT1 with 22 khz. set to the ON position.

yunedub
05-04-2012, 12:22 PM
You can add the bev 91 or 82 sat. to the lnb input terminal of the 1000.2, It is your choice as to what one you add.
Then run one output from the 1000.2 lnb to the 0 khz. side of a 22 khz controlled switch, Then run the other bev line you did not use to the port 1 of a diseqc switch,and the output from there to the 22 khz. side of your 22 khz, controlled switch.
In your receiver settings you will set 119 to port 1 with 22 khz to OFF. 110 to port 2 with 22 khz. to OFF.
129 to port 3 with 22 khz. to OFF.
The bev that you connected to the input of the 1000.2 lnb will be set to port 4 with 22 khz.to OFF.
The other bev sat. connected to the 22 khz side of controlled switch will be set to PORT1 with 22 khz. set to the ON position.

Not that I doubt you, but I haven't read a clear response on how to setup a 1000.2 with 82/91 until yours. Is your method confirmed to work? I'm looking to run the same setup so if anyone can confirm this it would be great.

edgarr
05-05-2012, 02:43 AM
My setup has been working perfect for 6 months now,And I have 3 stb`s running off this set up.

You probably know that your power inserter MUST be connected to port 1 on the 1000.2 lnb.
Also I have added sats 72.7 and 61.5 to the external 4x1 diseqc switch along with 82 but you can add any sats you like to ports 2,3,4 on switch and all will be set to 22khz ON in stb settings.

yunedub
05-05-2012, 06:44 PM
Awesome thats good news :)

ottid142
05-06-2012, 05:09 AM
You can add the bev 91 or 82 sat. to the lnb input terminal of the 1000.2, It is your choice as to what one you add.
Then run one output from the 1000.2 lnb to the 0 khz. side of a 22 khz controlled switch, Then run the other bev line you did not use to the port 1 of a diseqc switch,and the output from there to the 22 khz. side of your 22 khz, controlled switch.
In your receiver settings you will set 119 to port 1 with 22 khz to OFF. 110 to port 2 with 22 khz. to OFF.
129 to port 3 with 22 khz. to OFF.
The bev that you connected to the input of the 1000.2 lnb will be set to port 4 with 22 khz.to OFF.
The other bev sat. connected to the 22 khz side of controlled switch will be set to PORT1 with 22 khz. set to the ON position.

The one important thing to point out is that for this to work you have to have a DPP LNB connected to Port 4 of thew 1000.2. It will not work if you use Legacy or Standard LNBs.

edgarr
05-06-2012, 12:37 PM
I am sorry to say your wrong because I have a standard LNB connected to port 4 of 1000.2 lnb and it works perfect,The only thing to remember is STB lnb type settings for 119,110,129 have to be OCS-DP with freq.11250 And the lnb connected to port 4 set to lnb type standard or single with freq.11250.

This is very important,Please remember to shut down and unplug your STB prior to connecting or disconnecting any coax cables if you want to save your switches and LNBs

f2air045
05-06-2012, 06:25 PM
Where to buy that bracket

Terryl
05-06-2012, 06:54 PM
I am sorry to say your wrong because I have a standard LNB connected to port 4 of 1000.2 lnb and it works perfect,The only thing to remember is STB lnb type settings for 119,110,129 have to be OCS-DP with freq.11250 And the lnb connected to port 4 set to lnb type standard or single with freq.11250.

This is very important,Please remember to shut down and unplug your STB prior to connecting or disconnecting any coax cables if you want to save your switches and LNBs

FYI:
According to Dish (Echo *) engineering, it has to be a DP, DPP or equivalent LNB on that input port, not all LNB's will work on that input, a legacy type LNB will not work, nor will a universal LNB, some standard LNB's use dish type output protocol.

If it will work on port #4 of a DPP44 switch then it will work with the 3 headed LNB for the Dish 1000.2 setup.

More on this LNB can be found here.

http://www.firststrikemeters.com/docs/Quick_Facts_-_DISH_1000-2.pdf

ThaDraGun
05-07-2012, 03:11 AM
I'm getting kind of confused here. I think the bev lnbs are legacy type. Some say BEV, some say DN but they all look the same. So your telling me these lnb wont work?

I still havent had the time to hook everything up yet. Gotta figure out how Im getting the cable line into the house. Just wondering how the power inserter gets hooked up? With the power inserter does it mean I will have 2 lines going into the house... or does the inserter just go in between the receiver and the dish using only 1 line.

Glatt
05-07-2012, 04:43 AM
pm me for ne plus ultra ball joint bracket!

ottid142
05-07-2012, 05:20 AM
I'm getting kind of confused here. I think the bev lnbs are legacy type. Some say BEV, some say DN but they all look the same. So your telling me these lnb wont work?

I still havent had the time to hook everything up yet. Gotta figure out how Im getting the cable line into the house. Just wondering how the power inserter gets hooked up? With the power inserter does it mean I will have 2 lines going into the house... or does the inserter just go in between the receiver and the dish using only 1 line.

Most older Bev LNBS are Legacy, however in the last year or two Bev has started using DP and DPP LNBS. Their use seems to be kinda hit and miss with what appears to be the installers getting rid of old stock whenever they can.
With regards to the power inserter It should be on its own coax as it is not recommended to connect an FTA receiver to the inserter.

ThaDraGun
05-07-2012, 05:26 AM
Most older Bev LNBS are Legacy, however in the last year or two Bev has started using DP and DPP LNBS. Their use seems to be kinda hit and miss with what appears to be the installers getting rid of old stock whenever they can.
With regards to the power inserter It should be on its own coax as it is not recommended to connect an FTA receiver to the inserter.

Ok so if two separate lines are needed, would it be ok to leave the power inserter outside (as long as it was out of the rain/snow) or will it not survive cold temperatures? I'm just trying to see if there are any other ways to do it without making two holes in the side of the house.

ottid142
05-07-2012, 02:56 PM
Ok so if two separate lines are needed, would it be ok to leave the power inserter outside (as long as it was out of the rain/snow) or will it not survive cold temperatures? I'm just trying to see if there are any other ways to do it without making two holes in the side of the house.
I think you are stuck with 2 coaxes as the AC adaptor that comes with the power instrter is rated for indoor use only.

ThaDraGun
05-12-2012, 04:29 AM
I just noticed on the power inserter its labelled "to switch" "to receiver" So it sounds like its meant to be connected in between.

Why do you say they need to be on separate cable lines?




You can add the bev 91 or 82 sat. to the lnb input terminal of the 1000.2, It is your choice as to what one you add.
Then run one output from the 1000.2 lnb to the 0 khz. side of a 22 khz controlled switch, Then run the other bev line you did not use to the port 1 of a diseqc switch,and the output from there to the 22 khz. side of your 22 khz, controlled switch.
In your receiver settings you will set 119 to port 1 with 22 khz to OFF. 110 to port 2 with 22 khz. to OFF.
129 to port 3 with 22 khz. to OFF.
The bev that you connected to the input of the 1000.2 lnb will be set to port 4 with 22 khz.to OFF.
The other bev sat. connected to the 22 khz side of controlled switch will be set to PORT1 with 22 khz. set to the ON position.

From what you said this is all I've got so far. I want to try to make an image up so its easy to understand when I go to set it all up. I've never set up this many satellites before. Last time I only did 82 and 91 so it was simple with a diseqc switch and that was it.

- Do I connect 119 and 110 to port 2 and 3 of the diseqc switch?
- Receiver gets connected to the OUT of the 22 khz controlled switch?

- Where does the power inserter get connected?
EDIT: just read this over "You probably know that your power inserter MUST be connected to port 1 on the 1000.2 lnb."
What is port 1? in that picture I see 110, 119, 129, out. Or is there more then what the picture is showing?

- Do I need to use that SW44 Switch?

edgarr
05-13-2012, 10:43 PM
Ok I will try to give step by step inst.
1st in answer to your questions,
Do I connect 119 and 110 to port 2 and 3 of the diseqc switch? NO
Receiver gets connected to the OUT of the 22 khz controlled switch? YES
Do I need to use that SW44 Switch? NO (the lnb has built in switch)

STEP 1- Connect terminal labelled to switch on power inserter to lnb terminal 119 in the picture you made.
STEP 2- Connect cable from 91 sat. to terminal marked lnb input
STEP 3- Connect LNB terminal marked 110 or 129 to 0 khz side of 22khz switch (110 or 129 either one works same way)
One terminal will give you sats 110,119,129,and 91 from one cable.
STEP 4- Connect sat 82 to 22 khz side of 22 khz switch.
STEP 5- Connect the output from your 22 khz controlled switch to your Receiver.
STEP 6-These next steps are important to follow very close.
In your STB you need to set your LNB settings as follows
110 ,119,and 129 have to be set to OCS-DP type.
91,and 82 set to standard or 11250 freq.
Your lnb port settings will be as follows.
119-PORT 1 - 22KHZ-OFF
110-PORT 2 - 22KHZ-OFF
129-PORT 3 - 22KHZ-OFF
91 -PORT 4 - 22KHZ -OFF
82 -diseqc OFF - 22KHZ-ON
I hope this helps you with your setup.

Glatt
05-14-2012, 04:16 AM
Why so complicated just use an SW21 and Disecqs to add up to 8 LNBs! Simple set-up with 1 line to receiver!

edgarr
05-14-2012, 12:08 PM
It sounds complicated but it is very simple also i don`t think your method works with the 1000.2 lnb as it has a built in switch and you still need a power inserter

ThaDraGun
05-15-2012, 04:39 AM
Doing up the diagram it does look very simple. Figured might as well keep drawing it so it may come useful for someone else on here.
If say in the future I wanted to have more then one receiver hooked up is hard to add a second? No need to explain everything over again..I don't want to set it up now, just curious if its do-able or a bit more complicated.

One last question. From what I've read grounding is very important. Im still trying to figure that one out too. Just wondering where would I ground in this setup? Do I just have to ground one dish and everything will be ok or both dishes, or just one of the switches, all of the switches, or everything?

Thanks alot for the help!

edgarr
05-15-2012, 03:52 PM
You have 2 options for 2nd stb. you can run 1 line from lnb terminal marked 110,or 129 in drawing direct to 2nd stb.
this will give you sats 119,110,129 and 91 on 2nd stb.
If you also need sat 82 then you will have to run another line from 82 lnb to 2nd 22khz controlled switch and repeat first setup.
It is less trouble to run one line direct to 2nd stb and just have sats. 119,110,129, and 91

As for grounding I am not sure, I did not have to ground my system.
You should probably start another post and ask about this.

ottid142
05-15-2012, 09:41 PM
Doing up the diagram it does look very simple. Figured might as well keep drawing it so it may come useful for someone else on here.
If say in the future I wanted to have more then one receiver hooked up is hard to add a second? No need to explain everything over again..I don't want to set it up now, just curious if its do-able or a bit more complicated.

One last question. From what I've read grounding is very important. Im still trying to figure that one out too. Just wondering where would I ground in this setup? Do I just have to ground one dish and everything will be ok or both dishes, or just one of the switches, all of the switches, or everything?

Thanks alot for the help!

14715

Based on your drawing you do not need the Diseqc Switch for this setup unless you are planning to add more LNBs in the future. the coax from the 82 LNB can go directly to the 22kHz switch. With regard to grounding everything ---switches dishes etc should be grounded.

edgarr
05-15-2012, 10:12 PM
Yes Ottid142 is right I forgot this because in my setup I also have sats 72.7 and 61.5 along with 82 on a diseqc switch.
So in your case you do not need the diseqc switch.
And to add another stb you can run another line from 82 lnb to 22khz side of a 2nd 22khz controlled switch and 1 line from lnb terminal 110 or 129 in drawing to 0 khz side of 2nd 22khz controlled switch and output to 2nd stb.

Now for both of your stbs settings for sat 82 will be, diseqc-OFF and 22KHZ-ON. all other settings are same as before update.

Or if you want to leave sat 82 off 2nd stb just run 1 line from terminal 110 or 129 in drawing direct to 2nd stb.
And this will give you sats 110,119,129,and 91

PS. I have edited my previous posts to match this setup. and you may want to change your drawing to match these settings.

Sorry for any confusion.

ThaDraGun
05-16-2012, 05:48 AM
Here's the new one for everyone.

14728

Did a double receiver setup in case someone wanted it. I think I got it how you described.


110 ,119,and 129 have to be set to OCS-DP type.
91,and 82 set to standard or 11250 freq.

119-PORT 1 - 22KHZ-OFF
110-PORT 2 - 22KHZ-OFF
129-PORT 3 - 22KHZ-OFF
91 -PORT 4 - 22KHZ -OFF
82 -diseqc OFF - 22KHZ-ON

You said that was still the same, right? I didnt write it on the image because I wasnt sure.
14729

edgarr
05-16-2012, 12:22 PM
Everything looks good,and Great job on drawings